039 / Viejos Hombres de Abejón: Vol. 1

Viejos Hombres de Abejón are a collective of drone musicians, whose line-up on this release includes Heskin Radiophonic, Echosonic, and Vasko the Pig. Drawn from their collective experience, this release describes the experience of three liftimes lived, yet lived with an eye on the future.

Using some new fangled doohickeys to manipulate 1s and 0s, granular clouds of noise and melody invite the listener back to the bucolic times of the band’s youth. The album’s six tracks are designed equally to calm the troubled mind and to scare the sane. So, put on your slippers, pop a Werther’s Original in your mouth, relax in your wing-back chair, stoke your briar and enjoy some old-time drone.

download: bandcamp | archive.org

023 / Echosonic: Gauze

More laptop experimentation from echosonic, this mini album includes material from a number of sessions pieced together into a series of tracks incorporating drifting washes of noise and haunting melodies. With trademark ambient drone tracks and glitch-inspired electronica, Gauze blurs the boundaries between these diverse fragments of sound. These are themselves twisted into a maelstrom of murmurs, scratchy microrhythms and time and pitch-stretched harmonics sent spiraling around the listener’s head.

download: archive.org