024 / Gross Prophet: Ethic

Gross Prophet returns to Fwonk* with a second EP of intense glitchery, square wave synths and pounding beats, bringing to mind the works of Aphex Twin or Kid 606. The beats stay arhythmic and the production is crisp, distorted and off kilter in all the right places.

download: bandcamp | archive.org

020 / Errorhythm: 1996

Errorhythm’s first release is a culmination of the last 2 or 3 years of their live sets and bedroom noodlings. Mostly what they describe as “the more successful” of their experiments in both working on electronic music, and also of working together. Bohemian in terms of genre – but made cohesive in general feel and mood – it dabbles in dubstep, industrial and lo-fi electronica, but all clearly stamped with their unique style.

This EP is an excellent display of their versatility, both in songwriting and production. A good mix of party tracks and “listen to on the bus to make you feel better when surrounded by arseholes” tracks.

download: archive.org

016 / Gross Prophet: Protero

The Protero EP from Gross Prophet is alive with sound – drums looping in on themselves, eating themselves and spewing out the remains. With full-on glitches, stutters, bass squelches and distorted synths, Protero is not for the faint hearted.

download: bandcamp | archive.org

015 / Vasko The Pig: Seven Nights Of Silence

During a two week period of fairly heavy sleep deprivation, these seven tracks came into being. Each being worked on for no more than a couple of nights, the idea was to bring you as close to a ‘live’ or ‘improvised’ selection of tracks as possible. No time to correct mistakes, no time to second guess ideas, just follow the noise and see where it leads. Where it lead was to seven generaly chilled out oddities, the tunes melodic but off kilter, crisp yet hazy.

download: bandcamp | archive.org

010 / Vasko The Pig: Forever Wednesday

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/playlists/138091248″ params=”auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]

Try to imagine what would happen if Orbital, My Bloody Valentine, Nine Inch Nails and the Chemical Brothers got locked in a studio together. The result ight sound a little like Forever Wednesday. Written over the last two years, the EP includes the track ‘Faith Unknown’, Winner of Computer Music Magazine’s ‘Tune Of The Month’ accolade: “The artist describes this as ‘Trent Reznor does Techno’ and that’s pretty much what you get. Not music you would take home to your mother, but we like it!”

download: Bandcamp | archive.org | SoundCloud